Believers baptism:

Believers baptism.

John answered them, saying, I baptize with water: but there standeth one among you, whom ye know not; He it is, who coming after me is preferred before me, whose shoe’s latchet I am not worthy to unloose. John 1:26-27
The next day John seeth Jesus coming unto him, and saith, Behold the Lamb of God, which taketh away the sin of the world. This is he of whom I said, After me cometh a man which is preferred before me: for he was before me. And I knew him not: but that he should be made manifest to Israel, therefore am I come baptizing with water. And John bare record, saying, I saw the Spirit descending from heaven like a dove, and it abode upon him. And I knew him not: but he that sent me to baptize with water, the same said unto me, Upon whom thou shalt see the Spirit descending, and remaining on him, the same is he which baptizeth with the Holy Ghost.
John 1:29-33
Baptist are accused by some that We do not believe in baptism.On the contrary We take baptism very seriously.We believe baptism should be done as soon as possible, after one has received salvation,because it is a command of Jesus Christ.

Then the eleven disciples went away into Galilee, into a mountain where Jesus had appointed them. And when they saw him, they worshipped him: but some doubted. And Jesus came and spake unto them, saying, All power is given unto me in heaven and in earth. Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen.Matt 28:16-20
Jesus commanded that all believers to be baptized.
Here is where the question lies,is baptism necessary for salvation,or is baptism to be done after salvation ?I will address this question,with the Bible being my guide,as best I can.
In My area of the country(Southeast Tn.) there are some that teach baptism is necessary for receiving salvation.They actually have a 5 step plan that one must follow to be in their church

In Romans 10,Paul tells us what is necessary for salvation:
That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation. For the scripture saith, Whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed.
For there is no difference between the Jew and the Greek: for the same Lord over all is rich unto all that call upon him. For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved. Romans 10:9-13
Why doesn’t Paul mention baptism is needed to be saved?The logical answer is that it is not .In Ephesians 2,For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast. Eph 2:8-9
Paul realized that baptism is a work.We see that salvation is a gift of God and cannot be obtained by good works,but by grace (of God)through faith(in Jesus Christ)that We are saved.To add anything to the grace of God negates the gift, and becomes something We earn.This is why Paul doesn’t mention baptism as a necessity to being saved.Anything added to grace other than faith for salvation negates salvation.
It is the gift of God,means exactly what it says.It is free to the believer.This is why We teach salvation is by faith,or believing.
We are commanded to be baptized,but not for salvation.It is a good work that We do after We receive the gift salvation,just as all other works that we do.

by Sammy Smith

Leave a Reply

