Should Christians own guns ?

Should Christians own  guns ?

I was asked a question about Christians, and gun ownership.Should christians own
guns,or should they depend on their faith to keep them from harm ?
My opinion doesn’t mean much,however I believe it should be up to the
individual.I personally own guns and see nothing wrong in owning them.On the
other hand if someone does not want to own a gun they are not being forced to
buy one.
I believe the Lord would want us to use our common sense.If someone is
breaking into your home,it means one thing,they want to do You and Your family
harm.
Thugs do not care if You are a christian,or care about your faith.They will do you
harm if you let them.Therefore if I can prevent that by counteracting them I have
upheld My job as a husband and father.I am the protector of my home.I live in a
rural area and police response time isn’t always that swift.A lot of things can
happen in 2 or 3 minutes while waiting on law enforcement to arrive,20 minutes
later.
I do put my faith in the Lord to protect My family,but I am not so ignorant as to
believe thugs still wont break in,you see God is the last thing on their mind.They do not respect Your rights as a Christian.I  truly believe that The Lord wants us to protect our
families and keep them from harm.
But if any provide not for his own, and specially for those of his own house, he
hath denied the faith, and is worse than an infidel.1 Tim 5:8
I use the above verse to show that the Lord wants all christians to provide for
their family.While providing usually means food,shelter,and love,it also means
providing protection.
How could a man who loves his family let a rapist take over his house and have
their way with his wife or daughters.What kind of protector would He have been? I
choose to protect my family whatever the cost.
No man can enter into a strong man’s house, and spoil his goods, except he will first bind the strong man; and then he will spoil his house.Mark 3:27
To answer the question,God wants us to practice common sense.If I use a gun to keep my family safe,then I have done my job.

by Sammy Smith

Leave a Reply

